The village of Gargar (formerly known as Gyargyar, meaning “in a proud way”) was founded in 1790. The majority of Gargar’s population emigrated from Western Armenia, the Mush Valley in particular, during the massacres in 1915.
The few of the most significant pages of Gargar history were written in the early 19 th century. After Lori was liberated from the Persian yoke by special decree and joined Tsarist Russia in 1801, many families abandoned their settlements and permanently inhabited the liberated villages in Lori. The founding families of the village are the Kalashyans, Muradyans, Zalinyans and Harutyunyans.
Sourb Hovhannes Church (translates to “St. John’s Church”) is part of the historical heritage of the village which has been turned from a wooden structure into a stone building, imitating the Haghpat Monastery. The church was restored in 1906.
The surroundings of the church feature numerous interesting cross-stones adorned with unique ornaments that are worthy of special study.
The three pilgrimage sites in Gargar village - Subnishan, Yamaj and Amenaprkich - are also the rich and enduring legacy left by successive generations.
Gargar is the birthplace of such prominent figures as famous Armenian producer and director Harchya Ghaplanyan, detective writer Viktor Balayan, the city architect of Krasnodar Demirkhanov and others.